Sportscaster Magazine

News

Meridian Canadian Open TV Schedule Announced


Meridian Canadian Open TV Schedule Announced

The Meridian Canadian Open – the fourth stop of the 2016-17 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season – TV schedule has been announced by Rogers Sportsnet, owners of the tour.

TV coverage gets underway live from the Civic Centre in North Battleford, SK, on Thursday, Jan. 5 at 12:30 pm ET / 9:30 am PT on Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW. (Complete sportscasting schedule below).

Returning for the 5th season, the Meridian Canadian Open features 16 men’s and 16 women’s teams from around the globe competing for a $250,000 purse in a triple knockout bracket format.

In addition to the purse, Meridian Canadian Open winners also qualify for the Humpty’s Champions Cup – the final Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling event of the season, which features all of the top champions of the year in one final showdown.

Sportsnet’s curling experts bring fans closer to the action from North Battleford, with Rob Faulds calling the play-by-play alongside Olympic gold medallist Kevin Martin,1998 Olympic silver medallist Mike Harris and 1998 Olympic gold medallist Joan McCusker.

Owned and operated by Sportsnet since 2012, the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling is an elite series of men’s and women’s curling events which are part of the World Curling Tour and feature the best teams from across Canada and around the world. The series expanded from five to seven events for the 2015-16 season. Additionally, total prize money for the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling events increased to $2 million for 2016-17 season.

 

Meridian Canadian Open TV Schedule

*All Sportsnet TV coverage available for live streaming via Sportsnet NOW

**Sportscast schedule subject to change

 

Thursday, Jan. 5

  • Draw 7, 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Draw 8, 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Draw 9, 7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360)

 

Friday, Jan. 6

  • Draw 11, 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Draw 12, 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Draw 13, 7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet East, West, Pacific & ONE)

 

Saturday, Jan. 7

  • Men’s Quarter-finals, 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT (CBC)
  • Women’s Quarter-finals, 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE & 360)
  • Men’s & Women’s Semifinals, 9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE & 360)

 

Sunday, Jan. 8

  • Men’s Final, Noon ET / 9 a.m. PT (CBC)
  • Women’s Final, 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet 360)