Sportscaster Magazine

News

TSN Announces 4K TV Sportscasts, Will Deliver Raptors in Ultra HD


TSN has announced it will debut its Ultra HD 4K sportscasts with live TV coverage of the Toronto Raptors.

Ultra HD 4K TV production is the next step in live sports programming, with its enhanced motion detail, increased screen pixel counts, and greater brightness range. Global sports specialty TV services have already embraced the new format, and other TV providers and sports rightsholders have made commitments for further 4K sports TV programming initiatives.

TSN’s five national feeds will have the 4K debut when the Raptors host the Boston Celtics on Wednesday, January 20 at 7:30 pm Eastern, and the sports specialty service will offer up a a slate of 4K sportscasts featuring the Raptors, Toronto Maple Leafs, and Ottawa Senators (see below for TSN’s 4K sports specialty TV schedule).

Additional broadcasts available in 4K on TSN will be announced in the coming months.

“We are proud to be at the forefront of the next evolution in sports television with our first live broadcast in stunning 4K Ultra HD next week,” said Stewart Johnston, President of TSN. “TSN has always been the innovator in live sports production, and we will continue to do what we do best – deliver a world-class sports viewing experience to Canadian sports fans, now more vivid than ever before.”

Last week, TSN parent Bell Media announced its Discovery Canada video streaming service Discovery GO is offering a number of titles in 4K on Samsung UHD TVs.


4K Broadcasts on TSN

TSN’s schedule of live sports broadcasts available in 4K is as follows*:

Wednesday, Jan. 20

  • 7:30 p.m. ET – Boston Celtics @ Toronto Raptors

 

Sunday, Jan. 24

  • 6 p.m. ET – L.A. Clippers @ Toronto Raptors

 

Thursday, Jan. 28

  • 8 p.m. ET – New York Knicks @ Toronto Raptors

 

Thursday, Feb. 4

  • 7:30 p.m. ET – Edmonton Oilers @ Ottawa Senators

 

Monday, Feb. 8

  • 7:30 p.m. ET – Tampa Bay Lightning @ Ottawa Senators

 

Thursday, Feb. 18

  • 7:30 p.m. ET – New York Rangers @ Toronto Maple Leafs

 

Sunday, Feb. 21

  • 6 p.m. ET – Memphis Grizzlies @ Toronto Raptors

 

Tuesday, Feb. 23

  • 7:30 p.m. ET – Nashville Predators @ Toronto Maple Leafs

 

Wednesday, Feb. 24

  • 7:30 p.m. ET – Minnesota Timberwolves @ Toronto Raptors

Monday, Feb. 29

  • 7:30 p.m. ET – Tampa Bay Lightning @ Toronto Maple Leafs

 

Wednesday, March 2

  • 7:30 p.m. ET – Utah Jazz @ Toronto Raptors

 

Thursday, March 3

  • 7:30 p.m. ET – Tampa Bay Lightning @ Ottawa Senators

 

Friday, March 4

  • 7:30 p.m. ET – Portland Trail Blazers @ Toronto Maple Leafs

 

Monday, March 7

  • 7:30 p.m. ET – Buffalo Sabres @ Toronto Maple Leafs

 

Thursday, March 10

  • 7:30 p.m. ET – Atlanta Hawks @ Toronto Raptors

 

Tuesday, March 15

  • 7:30 p.m. ET – Tampa Bay Lightning @ Toronto Maple Leafs

 

Monday, March 21

  • 7:30 p.m. ET – Calgary Flames @ Toronto Maple Leafs

 

Tuesday, March 22

  • 7:30 p.m. ET – Washington Capitals @ Ottawa Senators

 

Wednesday, March 30

  • 7:30 p.m. ET – Atlanta Hawks @ Toronto Raptors

 

Monday, April 4

  • 7:30 p.m. ET – Florida Panthers @ Toronto Maple Leafs

 

Tuesday, April 5

  • 7:30 p.m. ET – Charlotte Hornets @ Toronto Raptors

 

Tuesday, April 12

  • 7:30 p.m. ET – Philadelphia 76ers @ Toronto Raptors

 

*Schedule subject to change


Print this page

Related Posts



3 Comments » for TSN Announces 4K TV Sportscasts, Will Deliver Raptors in Ultra HD
  1. Ss says:

    Jan 23 missing! Leafs vs habs. I believe it is the first NHL 4k broadcast from tsn

  2. Janet Noble says:

    When will Shaw Direct get 4K for the Jays games? On TSN sports

2 Pings/Trackbacks for "TSN Announces 4K TV Sportscasts, Will Deliver Raptors in Ultra HD"
  1. […] sports and television provider BT is among the many global sports specialty services and rightsholders embracing the new format, having launched its Ultra HD service last summer, and it carries live coverage of UEFA Champions […]

  2. […] is coming! TSN will debut 4K programming on January 20 when the Toronto Raptors host the Boston Celtics. You can also catch the Edmonton […]

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*